top of page
  • Writer's pictureClumsy Yet Classy

Things May Seem Closer than They Appear, or are They?


Driving is scary, stressful and complicated for everyone but when your special awareness, coordination and sense of left and right can’t seem to get in the right gear, it can make the experience a bit more memorable.


 

One thing I recommend is to tell the instructor early if you have dyspraxia or any other condition that might make the experience slightly more interesting.


 

I didn’t do this, instead it came to light a couple of weeks before my test. Whilst battling a particularly difficult roundabout my instructor asked what the problem was and why roundabouts were suddenly such a problem. A turn of the key to switch off the engine and a ten minute talk later I was back on the road and conquering the roundabout. My instructor explained that letting him know I have dyspraxia would have given me a different experience as now he could tailor his teaching around my strengths and weakness.


Thankfully, my sense of left and right is not completely inaccurate. However, when I sat in the driving seat of the learner car I just followed the curve of the road trying not to hit anything. Left, right, up or down, it was all the same stressful instruction on a course of imminent danger.


Sat in the car waiting to go in for my test… the first of three. In the corner of my eye I saw a leaping line of black ink and suddenly there was a large “L” on my left hand. It worked. I may not have suddenly become a human compass, but I knew my left from my right. This didn’t stop me from safely making a wrong turn… on the third test.

For me, the main issue when driving is special awareness and judgement. Only a slightly vital element of driving. It can be scary at a roundabout when you can’t judge if you have time to slip into the stream of cars and escape scratch free. This is the reason that I take my time. I am happy to wait for a clear opening or let a certain car pass until I am completely sure it is safe. When changing lanes I check my mirrors constantly. Before, during and after. I also make sure to prepare myself by getting in the closest lane as soon as possible and indicating as soon as it is safe and reasonable.


I passed my test when I finally got my nerves under control. Two things all drivers new and old have in common is that they want to be safe and have an enjoyable journey. Dyspraxia will not prevent you from having any of these. Your lack of direction just means you may have some exciting adventures in-store as you visit places that might not have been on your agenda. Just remember, stay calm, stay safe and use washable ink if you are going to put a massive “L” on your hand.



 

P.S

If any of my friends or family are reading this I know what you were expecting and probably hoping to see. To anyone who does not know me, I should probably explain.


I was in two car accidents, cue my most used phrase on this topic, “neither time was my fault!” When you’re clumsy on two legs it can often mean that people like to make fun of you when you are unfortunate on four wheels. A speedy driver who admired my car took too close a look while I was sat stationary at traffic lights. A year later Felicity the Ford and I (Fliss to her friends) were driving down a country road when her front tire decided a hot day in July would be the perfect time for a blow-out. This particular accident was fast and frightening.


I am extremely grateful to the bystanders that helped, sorry to the man I scared as my car launched towards his before I could swerve off the road. I am especially apologetic to the cyclist I frightened as I jumped out of the car the same time he tried to open the door to check I was alive and well.


If there is one thing I have learnt from dyspraxia it is resilience. We can’t control everything, but we can control our reaction. My mum encouraged me to get back behind the wheel as soon as I felt I could. A few tears later I was back to normal and once again loving being in the driver’s seat. This resilience has come in handy a lot in my life which is why I am #dyspraxicandproud

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

You Can't Rewrite Who You Are

A benefit of the 21st Century is that I can write this blog, and thanks to the wonderful world of fonts my writing is completely legible. However, despite the internet and a plethora of fonts, beautif

Hiding in Plain Sight

A few years ago, I read the amazing book ‘Caged in Chaos’ by Victoria Biggs. One of the things that stuck with me about this book was the description of people with dyspraxia as “the hidden people”. T

All Packed... Now What Have I Forgot?

The holidays are over, the sweets have been eaten and now it’s time to go back to reality and pack a suitcase for my return to uni. Alternatively, I could procrastinate and write a blog post on how to

bottom of page